Rio Tinto Stadium

  • Sports Venues
  • Meeting & Special Event Venues
  • Sports
  • Sports

Rio Tinto Stadium is the world-class home of Major League Soccer's Real Salt Lake, 2009 MLS Cup Champions and 2011 CONCACAF Champions League runner-ups. In addition to RSL games, Rio Tinto Stadium hosts REAL Monarchs, RSL Women, USA Rugby, and American Football games, as well as corporate and private events.

Quick Facts

  • Iconic roof structures on the east and west sides of the stadium keeps atmosphere in; Teflon-coated fiberglass roof manufactured to withstand hurricane-force winds
  • 41 feet down to the playing field from street level
  • 3,891,243 cubic yards of dirt moved
  • 25,000 cubic yards of concrete
  • 5,350,000 pounds of structural steel
  • 400 miles of coaxial cable
  • 6,700 parking spaces within 15-minute walk of main entrance
  • 20,000 fans capacity (25,000 for concerts)
  • 3 fully equipped professional locker rooms
  • 32 luxury suites
  • 12 permanent concession, 15 portable concession stands
  • Open north end concourse with full view of the field
  • Full-service Stadium Club with 150 field view seats located just nine rows up from west sideline
  • Fourth-level press entrance to six broadcast booths and 32-seat press box
  • Just 15 miles from downtown Salt Lake City
  • Three minutes to Interstate 15 (1.2 miles)
  • 20 minutes to Salt Lake City International Airport (19.85 miles)
  • Grass surface: 120 yards long x 75 yards wide; Blue Grass and Rye Mix

General Information

  • Bar/Lounge
  • Days of Operation: 7 Days a Week
  • Liquor Service Available
  • Wheelchair Accessible: Full
  • Public Transportation: within 1 block
  • Miles From SLC: 10
  • Seasonal: Year-Round
  • Pets Allowed: No
  • Internet Access: Wireless
  • Parking: Free , For a Fee , Valet
  • Discounts: Group Discount
  • Gift Shop

Dining & Nightlife

  • Restaurant on Premises

Payment Methods Accepted

  • Cash
  • Check
  • American Express
  • Discover
  • Master Card
  • Visa

Map & Location

9256 S. State St., Sandy, UT 84070
Nearby Points of Interest
  • Things To Do
    • Restaurants & Bars
      • Places to Stay
        Reviews
        39 reviews
        Events
        Friday, May 03 Saturday, May 04 Saturday, May 11 Saturday, May 18 Friday, May 24 Saturday, May 25 Saturday, Jun 15 Friday, Jun 28 Saturday, Jun 29 Wednesday, Jul 03 Saturday, Jul 13 Friday, Jul 19 Saturday, Jul 20 Saturday, Jul 27 Saturday, Aug 03 Wednesday, Aug 07 Wednesday, Aug 14 Saturday, Aug 17 Saturday, Aug 24 Friday, Sep 06 Wednesday, Sep 11 Saturday, Sep 21 Wednesday, Sep 25 Sunday, Sep 29 Saturday, Oct 12

        Meeting Facilities

        • Exhibits Space
        • Description: This world-class venue seats 20,000 people for Major League Soccer and other sports events. Capacity increases to 25,000 for concerts. Stadium amenities include 32 luxury suites, a 2,000-square foot Stadium Club, 1,000 premium club seats, five locker rooms, a 60-foot Video Board, and ribbon LED boards stretching 200 feet long on both the east and west fascia.
        • Floorplan File: Floorplan File
        • Largest Room: 7200
        • Total Sq. Ft.: 20000
        • Reception Capacity: 400
        • Theatre Capacity: 400
        • On-site AV Services: true
        • Email: dharris@rsl.com
        • Fields, Courts, Golf Holes: 4
        • Phone: (801) 727-2779
        • Venue Contact: David Harris
        • Venue Type: Meeting/Event Facility , Wedding , Other , Soccer
        • Catering Policy: Exclusive
        • Banquet Capacity: 325
        • Number of Rooms: 8
        • Suites: 32
        • Classroom Capacity: 400

        Meeting Facility Rooms

        Room Name Reception Sq. Ft. Banquet Capacity Dimensions Cieling Theater Classroom Size
        OUTDOOR STADIUM -- -- -- -- -- 20000 --
        BUDWEISER CLUB REAL ROOM 350 9800 275 -- 8 400 400
        100 LIONS CLUB 100 1620 120 -- 10 120 120
        FRIENDS & FAMILY ROOM 60 900 40 -- 10 60 60
        MAIN FLOOR MEDIA ROOM 75 640 50 -- 10 70 70

        More Ski City